How to homeschool in South Dakota

Low regulationChecked against official sources October 9, 2026

In South Dakota you file a one-time Alternative Instruction Notification for each child within 30 days of starting to homeschool. You file online or on paper with the Department of Education or your local district. You only file again if you move to another district or your child enrolls in a school. You must teach language arts and math, and testing is no longer required.

Homeschooling in South Dakota at a glance: notice of intent required (send to the South Dakota Department of Education or your local school district); instruction time: not specified; 3 required subject areas; testing: none required (state testing for homeschoolers was repealed in 2021).

Requirements in South Dakota

Alternative instruction (home school) · SDCL 13-27-3, 13-27-7

Parents provide alternative instruction in the basic skills of language arts and mathematics after filing the state's standard notification form. The instructor does not need to be certified.

Notice
  • Send to: the South Dakota Department of Education or your local school district.
  • When: within 30 days of first beginning alternative instruction.
  • How often: once per child; file again within 30 days if the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different school district.
  • How: online Alternative Instruction Notification system (preferred) or the state's paper form, mailed to the Department of Education or delivered to the district office; you receive a signed or stamped copy as proof.
Instruction time
Not specified.
Required subjects
  • Language arts.
  • Mathematics.
  • Instruction must lead to mastery of the English language.
Records to keep
  • Your signed or stamped copy of the notification (proof of filing).
Testing / evaluation
None required (state testing for homeschoolers was repealed in 2021).
Parent qualifications
None; the instructor does not need to be certified. One person may not instruct more than 22 children.
Also
  • Compulsory attendance applies from age 6 by September 1 (or age 5 if enrolled in kindergarten) until 18 or graduation.
  • The notification is confidential.
  • Homeschooled students may join activities in their resident district; using the state's reduced-tuition dual credit program requires a notification on file with the Department and a signed MOU.

Official form: SD Department of Education: Home Schooling (Alternative Instruction Notification, online and paper)

What the notice must include

  • Child's name.
  • Child's birthdate.
  • Resident school district.
  • Open-enrolled district, if any.
  • Signature of the parent, guardian or other person in control of the child.
  • Return information for the stamped copy.
  • Declaration that the child will receive alternative instruction under SDCL 13-27-3.

Checklist

  • File the Alternative Instruction Notification for each child: within 30 days of starting homeschooling.
  • Keep your stamped copy of the notification: ongoing.
  • File an updated notification after moving districts or enrolling in a school: within 30 days of the change.

Leaving a public school

Filing the Alternative Instruction Notification with the Department of Education or your local district is how you notify the school system; file it within 30 days of starting.

Common questions about homeschooling in South Dakota

Do I have to notify anyone to homeschool in South Dakota?
Yes. You send notice to the South Dakota Department of Education or your local school district, within 30 days of first beginning alternative instruction. How often: once per child; file again within 30 days if the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different school district. Online Alternative Instruction Notification system (preferred) or the state's paper form, mailed to the Department of Education or delivered to the district office; you receive a signed or stamped copy as proof.
What subjects do I have to teach in South Dakota?
South Dakota requires: Language arts; Mathematics; Instruction must lead to mastery of the English language.
How many days or hours of homeschool does South Dakota require?
Not specified.
Are standardized tests or evaluations required in South Dakota?
None required (state testing for homeschoolers was repealed in 2021).
Do parents need a teaching certificate to homeschool in South Dakota?
None; the instructor does not need to be certified. One person may not instruct more than 22 children.
What records should I keep when homeschooling in South Dakota?
Your signed or stamped copy of the notification (proof of filing).

Worth double-checking

  • SB 177 (2021) replaced the old yearly notice and testing requirements with the one-time notification. Some older Department pages still describe annual filing or testing; the statute controls.
  • SDCL 13-27-3.1 requires a certified birth certificate at enrollment for public or nonpublic schools; how this applies to homeschool families is worth confirming with your district.
  • A 2025 bill to create education savings accounts that would fund homeschooling (HB 1020) did not pass.

Sources

This is a plain-language summary to help you get organized, not legal advice. Laws and forms change, so confirm the details with your state or school district before you file.